Submitted by Owen McCafferty on Wed, 2009-12-23
Discover the story of Tain in this wonderful “experience” centre. Hands on exhibits encourage all to take part in this history experience. The centre is set in “The Pilgrimage” beside the Old St Duthac Church. Tain Through Time tells the story of Tains St Duthac and pilgrimage to his shrine. It includes the award winning local museum, sound and light show, cd tour of town, childrens activities and shop. Tain & District Museum and Clan Ross Centre where the history of the area is told through artefacts and interpretation boards.
The Pilgrimage Centre
The Pilgrimage is a modern visitor centre built in a 17th century schoolhouse in the churchyard. It tells the story of medieval pilgrimage to Tain in two colourful galleries using images and sound. There is a range of activities including dressing up and a CD tour of the town. The museum shop is in this building, which is on three floors with a wheelchair lift and a wheelchair accessible toilet. The Pilgrimage building where Tain’s medieval past is explored and the CD tour is collected. The CD tour takes the visitor round St Duthus Collegiate Church and then through the streets of Tain. The ground floor gallery illustrates the life and times of King James IV of Scotland, who made at least 18 pilgrimages to the shrine of St Duthac in Tain between 1493 and 1513. Upstairs, the Town Loft Gallery describes St Duthac’s miracles and the building of the collegiate church. The story is told through a series of paintings commissioned from a local artist and a haunting sound track. The museum shop is located at the Pilgrimage entrance.
Tain & District Museum
Tain & District Museum is home to an extensive and varied collection of objects, photographs and archives of local, regional and national significance. The museum is housed in what was once the caretaker’s cottage for the collegiate church and churchyard. It was built in the 1880s following the restoration of the collegiate church. Its first curator was Rosemary Mackenzie, who had been gathering local material since the 1950s, and was still actively involved up until her death in a tragic accident on March 1st, 2004. Among the rarest items in the collection are examples of silverware made in Tain in the 18th and 19th centuries include a Hugh Ross tot cup made between about 1700 and 1710, a mid 18th century Hugh Ross pepperpot, and a rare three-pronged fork and a gold signet ring by Alexander Stewart. Another key theme within the collection is the story of the Clan Ross. Balnagown Castle, built for the Earl of Ross in the 15th century and home to the senior branch of the clan until 1711, situated just a few miles south of the town. Each year the museum holds one major exhibition and one smaller one for Archaeology Fortnight. Tain Museum also has a section on Clan Ross on the SCRAN.
The Collegiate Church of St Duthac
Visit this Tain through time museum and see how the royal burgh of Tain has changed over the years, or you could visit the Glenmorange distillery the first time. Open from the end of March until the end of October from 10am to 6pm daily.
Includes a gift shop, local history books and Scottish music.
Contact: Tain Through Time Telephone: 01862 894089
‹ Tain Tennis Club up The Anta Pottery › Similar of ‘Tain through time’