The House of the Binns stands as a living monument to one of Scotland’s oldest families, the Dalyells, who have lived here since 1612.
Historic home of the Dalyell family, it contains a fascination collection of portraits, furniture and porcelain revealing their lives and interests through the centuries. In the grounds visitors can enjoy panoramic views over the River Forth.
The House of the Binns is the family home of the Dalyell family for nearly 400 years. The house was gifted to the NTS in 1944, along with the Parkland, contents and an endowment, under the Country House Scheme by Eleanor Dalyell and her son, Tam Dalyell, who retained the right of the family to live in the house and contribute towards the upkeep and maintenance in partnership with the National Trust for Scotland.
What to see & do
No formal gardens because of peafowl but designed landscape and parkland with stunning views
January – snowdrops, daffodils and bulbs followed by bluebells
Restaurants, shop & other facilities
The Parkland has sheep and cattle grazing, there is also a peafowl colony of about 30 – Visitors are asked that if they do bring dogs that the dog is kept on a lead at all times and to ensure that they do not foul the area around the car park, around the house, picnic areas and woodland walk for health and safety reasons, as well as amenity
Parking a short distance from the house – limited disabled parking by the house.
Estate: all year, daily, closing at dusk.
House: 1 Jun to 30 Sep, Sat-Wed 2-5. Guided tours only (last tour 4.15.)
Telephone: 0844 4932127
Fax: 0131 665 1546
1 Parent £16.50
Members of the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards (successors of ‘The Greys’) in uniform are admitted free.
House of The Binns
Edinburgh & The Lothians EH49 7NA