The Orkney Islands Area

Submitted by Owen McCafferty on Wed, 2009-11-18

Orkney is a group of 67 islands lying off the north coast of Caithness. Only about a third of the islands are inhabited. Orkney, also known as the Orkney Islands, (and sometimes incorrectly as “The Orkneys” is situated a few miles off the north-east tip of mainland Scotland. With its green fields and hills, stone pinnacles rising out of the sea, rugged cliffs and sandy beaches, it is the ideal place for getting away from it all. The largest island, known as the “Mainland” has an area of 523.25 square kilometres (202.03 sq mi) making it the sixth largest Scottish island and the tenth-largest island in the British Isles. The largest settlement and administrative center is Kirkwall.

The Orkney Islands Area Including: Balfour, Burray, Evie, Finstown, Harray, Holm, Hoy, Kirkwall, Longhope, Orphir, Sandwick, Stomness, St Margaret’s Hope and Tankerness. Orkney contains some of the oldest and best-preserved Neolithic sites in Europe, and the “Heart of Neolithic Orkney” is a designated UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Telephone Code (+44) 1856 from outwith Britain. From within Britain 01856.

Similar of ‘The Orkney Islands Area’

Related Posts

Add Comment